Home > Uncategorized > Whoever is at Fault, Fix It: Where is My RAM?

Whoever is at Fault, Fix It: Where is My RAM?

Many people have been making “the switch” from PC to Mac. Over 50% of Apple computers bought were by first time buyers. For the first time ever, Intel Macs occupy a larger market share than PowerPC Macs. While there are many reasons to make the switch, one of the biggest if not THE biggest reason is you can dual boot OS X and Windows on Intel Macs. With Leopard, Apple is fully supporting Bootcamp, their software to install Windows.

There are many reasons to dual boot such as programs that will only run in Windows to the lack of gaming support for Apple computers. I personally installed Vista to be able to play games on my Mac Pro, Apple’s powerhouse computer. I want to play games like Gears of War, Bioshock, and Crysis. For the upgrade to Leopard and to game in Windows, I installed an extra 2GB of RAM in my system to make a total of 3GB. Here is what I get:

system

OS X recognizes 3GB of RAM. Sweet, yay, fine.

SystemStats

If you take a close look, Windows Vista only sees 2GB of RAM. For games like Bioshock requesting 2GB of RAM and Crysis 1.5GB, those of us using a Mac Pro are left almost in the dark. Granted Gears of War runs pretty well cranked up but the computer is at its limits with the failure to recognize the other 1GB along with Vista hogging resources in the background.

There are a few forums that discuss the problem but neither Apple nor Microsoft is coming out to say what the problem is. It appears to be an Apple problem with the Mac Pro because those with PC’s can see over 3GB of RAM. Could it be because the RAM is held on 2 separate trays? Or is it a problem with Bootcamp? I haven’t seen reports of other Apple computer lines having this problem. So what’s going on Apple? Where is the fix or are you unwilling to identify this as an actual problem? Someone needs to step it up.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Svence
    November 15, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    Is it true that you can only install a 32-bit version of windows Vista using BootCamp?
    All throughout the Bootcamp process it warns to only install 32 bit OS.
    I read that you have to run Vista 32-bit version. Is this true?
    If so then, that’s very lame. Is this only to allow you to run vista from within the MAC OS?
    Perhaps this is nice, but not absolutely essential to me. I’d much rather have the full power of both 64 bit OS running.
    How much RAM does 32-bit Vista allow you to use?
    I know 64-bit allows you to have much more
    Could that be your problem?

  2. pineleashed
    November 15, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Supposedly you’re only supposed to run 32bit operating systems under bootcamp although I have yet to find a good reason for this from Apple. I have heard/read that the main system functions of OSX are still 32bit. So I assume when the apple hardware drivers are installed in windows from the OSX install disc, they must be installed on a 32 bit version of windows because unlike OSX which works with 64 and 32 bit systems, Windows 64 bit will not recognize ANYTHING 32 bit which has left people to this day left in the dark with a lot of applications and drivers.

    However, even the 32bit version of Vista will support 4GB of RAM which should solve my problem you would think. Another however, I have read that is a TOTAL RAM support including from the graphics card, sound card, etc. If that is the case, it’s completely stupid and doesn’t make any sense. That’s something I would expect from Window 3.1. 64bit Vista will support a LOT more RAM to the point most PC’s won’t even support yet although a Mac Pro will support 32GB as of present time.

    Bootcamp is not an emulator like Parallels making windows run within OS X. It turns your intel mac into a full fledged PC where all system resources are used and managed by Windows. Luckily BootCamp seals off the Windows partition so if/when it becomes corrupted, it won’t affect your OS X drives.

  3. Flies
    December 18, 2007 at 3:50 am

    My comment here brings no further knowledge – I just simply have to vent my frustrations as well.

    I wish i had seen this topic before my 2 days journey into:

    “what the h… i just bought extremely expensive RAM, giving me a total of 4 GB RAM, for one purpose only; to play games even smoother in Windows….and now my computer still just says “2 GB RAM” when in WindowsXP mode, and 4GB when in Leopard.

    I spent hours and hours trying to rearrange the RAM-blocks, reconfiguring the OS-software, running repair-applications and so on.

    I tried to follow a lot of links, and I have now studied dozens of articles and threads,
    where people at various skill-levels just talk and talk about the problem.

    But I feel like having found a black hole here.
    The only clear thing to me, is the completely and absolute lack of a simple answer from either Microsoft or Apple.

    My wish for Xmas:

    ” Here are 3 simple steps to make your MacPro in WindowsXP-mode
    accept the RAM that just costed you the same as one brandnew, fairly OK PC, including screen.

    * A

    * B

    * C

    And if i got a second wish, it would be a new list :

    ” Here are 3 simple steps on how to get rid of the yellow exclamation-marks
    on the Intel(R) 5000 Series chipset PCI Express x4 port 3, 5, 6, and 7 ”

    It just might be, that these two “how-to” lists would be somewhat connected.

    Best regards
    Flies

  4. December 29, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    I would presume Leopard is a 64 bit OS and you are using Vista 32 bit. In order to take advantage of your 4GB+ RAM you need a 64bit Vista

  5. January 19, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Same problem with Vista 64 bit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

