Home > Uncategorized > Leopard vs Tiger: Bringing You the Pretty

Leopard vs Tiger: Bringing You the Pretty

I have had a good 72 hours with Leopard now and I want to bring to you some of the visual changes I have noticed between Leopard and Tiger. I only have one negative concern in the Finder, but I’ll get to that. Unfortunately, I don’t have images of Quicklook or Coverflow at the moment but will get those soon.

Note: Tiger pictures were taken from my Powerbook. Leopard is from my Mac Pro. The version from Tiger will be first followed by Leopard.

Desktop

Desktop

Desktop

As you can see from the desktop, there is relatively no difference except my wallpaper, but that’s a matter of choice. Upon closer look at the top, you can see the differences of the MenuBar.

MenuBar

MenuBar

MenuBar

An obvious note is the difference in color between Tiger and Leopard. Tiger has a white Menubar while the Leopard is actually translucent. It looks a little gray because of the wallpaper behind it. Also, the Apple logo has been taken from blue to a dark gray and so has the icon for Spotlight.

The Dock

Dock

Dock

The dock in Leopard (bottom) now has a 3D reflective look to it. There has been a lot of complaints about the dock’s new look, but I’m a fan. The black triangle that notifies you which applications are running has been swapped out for a blue light. You can also see the new preferences icon from the switch/apple logo to the gears found on the iPhone. You can also see the icon for the new application Time Machine. The vertical line next to the trash can in Tiger has been replaced with a line of dashes. The 3 icons to the right of the dashed line in Leopard are stacks: applications, downloads, and documents.

Stacks

Stacks Fan

Stacks Grid

Above are the two views of stacks found in Leopard. The top is “Fan” and the bottom is “Grid.” The fan looks a little weird with the leaning, but I guess stacks tend to tip a little when items are stacked on top of each other; I’ve played Jenga.

The Finder

Finder Home

Finder

Note: I changed many of my Tiger icons in the finder on my laptop.

The stock icons are Leopard, Music, Sites, and Public. All with the glossy, slanted icons with a picture. The new icons are a matte blue with an embedded icon. You’ll also notice the Icons for coverflow and quicklook at the top. On the bottom of the main window is the “path” to let you know how you got to where you’re at. And what’s that massive gray box around it? That’s the much larger drop shadow to differentiate windows from each other. You can see a much smaller drop shadow behind the Tiger finder. Of course it’s not that black on the desktop but the alpha layer didn’t pick up in the screen capture

Finder Pane FinderSide

The left pane in the Finders are completely different. If you’ve ever used iTunes, you’ll recognize the pane in Leopard. It looks just like the iTunes finder pane. Leopard has a flat gray background, smaller icons, and links to searches done in Finder. However, unlike Tiger, I had to manually add music, movies, and pictures. They didn’t come standard. What is more weird, is (I’ll add a picture later) when you import in iTunes a finder window opens and it shows music, movies, and pictures under a Media heading. I’m not sure why this happened but I’m hoping there will be a fix or hack for this. Even under the Finder preferences, “Media” is not an option to view.

Preferences

Preferences

Preferences

Drop shadow change of course and if you look REAL close, you can see Tiger has lines all through the pane whereas in Leopard, the lines are gone for a much cleaner and sleek look. You’ll also see new icons for Expose, Time Machine, and Parental Controls along with a few “others” which I added.

BluetoothPref BluetoothPRef

Bluetooth preferences went through a major overhaul, but still no device uses for iPhone, hmmmm. Bluetooth is a LOT more friendly than it was before which is nice.

NetworkPref

NetworkPref

The network pane is also completely different and more user friendly than before. Forgive the Pixelmator stamps. I’m using the demo.

Adium Preferences

AdiumPref

The Adium preference pane is a great example of how Apple manhandled the design of all apps to look the same. There hasn’t been an Adium update for Leopard, but you can see the sleeker gray in Leopard along with the larger drop shadow. Also note the beveled select of the “appearance” in Leopard as opposed to a full button push of the button in Tiger. It’s little tweaks like that, that make Leopard pop. It’s a really professional but fun looking appearance.

All in all, Leopard makes the OS X interface more visually enhanced but other differences like preferences really make picking up the OS a lot easier. Stacks is a welcome addition that makes getting to programs and documents a lot easier and definitely reduces desktop clutter. The idea is so extreme that you shouldn’t even need your HD’s to appear on the desktop.

Stay tuned for more Leopard.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 29, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Excellent blog! It looks like Apple has really done a great job with it’s new OS.

    Hope to see more soon! I’ll be posting more on my Vista vs. XP blogs, too. You’ve inspired me to keep going!

  2. October 30, 2007 at 5:30 am

    Nice screenshots! I think I’ll save up for a new laptop (currently using an iBook 12in. PowerPC G4, 1.33 GHz, 1 GB RAM) rather than upgrade to Leopard.

  3. October 30, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    It is helpful to me, since I am considering to buy a Mac. Thanks!

  4. Karl
    November 5, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I must say, from viewing my house mates upgrade to leopard, I have been pretty let down with the minimal advances leopard brings. the spacing/quadrant feature is nice and the cover flow is a bit of an advantage. But I can’t say I am very impressed.

  5. Alienator
    November 15, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Hello! Wonderful looking blog!

    Do you buy any chance have some link where we could download that wonderful wallpaper from your very first screenshot (Earth) ?

    It would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance!

  6. March 25, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    In january i’ve just bought a macbook (my first one) and it had leopard preinstalled. I used tiger in the past in the mac section in college, and i like both, but to be honest i prefer leopard.

    Nice blog friend.

  7. Yamcha
    April 27, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Running Leopard on my PC, I seem to like the look of tiger better, been thinking about switching to that, but not 100% sure yet.

  8. Tom
    May 12, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Would you believe it, I for one have just downgraded my Macbook from Leopard to Tiger. I find Tiger a little simpler, easier on the eye, and a little more intuitive (I’ve recently switched from Windows).

  9. hockpooh
    July 29, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Thanks for posting this info. As I suspected, Leopard isn’t worth the headaches for a new coat of paint. As for stacks, Tiger has the Overflow application that is much better.

    I’m tossing my Leopard download. When I do buy a new mac that comes with 10.5,
    I’m just going top clone my Tiger to it.

    I think Microsoft AND Apple have reached the end of their creative abilities.

    Leopard and Vista have so many problems it’s almost like going back in time and watching them trying to invent an operating system for the first time.

    Of course you will always have a hand full of nerds and geeks that will always be in denial about the true condition of the cutting edge tech. If I hear one more person say that they love Leopard and have never had a problem, I think I’ll hurl. Just reading macfixit.com everyday, you can see they are lying and the problems just keep piling up. They just don’t want to admit that they were an idiot and should have waited till just before 10.6. It’s like 10.3.9, and 10.4.11 work OK, but it took until the end of those versions to work out the bugs. 10.5 is different though. I don’t have any hope for it, and there really isn’t anything amazing.

    I think Apple was trying to take over the world of computers and run their OS on all computers and Microsoft will just be a play station. I think Apple screwed themselves because they were trying to be more like MS. Even all the new apps like Aperture, with it’s black windows are just down right ugly. Lets just make everything black, yuk.

  1. November 6, 2007 at 3:47 pm
  2. February 28, 2008 at 4:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

